Posted by: Sharon | March 9, 2010

Just my two cents

This is a bit of a rant, but some useful info for those of you who are completely clueless, oblivious, or any of the above:

So, I go to the pharmacy/drug store today to pick up some random items on my lunch break.  I rarely have cash on me, but when I do, I’m one of those people that likes to give exact change when I can.   I would think that counting out exact change would  be helpful to the person behind the register, because then you don’t have to count out change to give back to me, and you certainly don’t have to worry about giving me back the wrong amount either.

This is also helpful for me, because I can get rid of the bulky coins in my wallet (aka pocketbook for those of you in New England).  I am one of those people who will ‘leave a penny’, give you six cents if the total is $1.96, so that you don’t have to count out four pennies back to me (rather, just hand me a single dime), and I am certainly not one of those people who will sweep up some pennies with dust on the floor and throw it in to the trash. 

Money is money is money.

And my money is my money. (as opposed to my marriage, where the hubby’s money is my money too… just kidding).

So, pay attention here to the moral of this story: When the register says that the change due back to me is $11.02, don’t hand me back $11.00 and wish me a nice day.  Give me my two cents.  Don’t make me ask for it.  It’s my money.  Don’t question whether I want it.  It’s my money.  Don’t assume it doesn’t matter to me. It’s my money.  And my right to decide what I want to do with it. If it’s to leave it, use it to pay for the two cents in the $4.32 for my coffee tomorrow, or whatever I please.  It’s not your money to keep in your register. It’s not your money to decide whether it’s important enough to even consider.

It’s my two cents.

Leave a Reply

Categories

