Posted by: Sharon | February 22, 2010

Sewing 101

This is a shout out to my Aunt Virgina (Auntie Virgie for short) who taught me how to sew back in the days when I still played with Barbies and she offered to make them new outfits for fun.

Thanks to Auntie Virgie who taught me the:
-running stitch
-back stitch
-hemming stitch
-overcast stitch

And who also gave me the confidence to invent my own stitches as well…

Thanks to Auntie Virgie who taught me to knit and embroider.  Though it was fun at the time, I can’t say I remember how to even hold a knitting needle anymore.

Thanks to Auntie Virgie who taught me how to thread a needle. And how to wet a thread with my mouth so that the frayed edges could still go through.

Thanks to Auntie Virgie who introduced me to Mr. Bobbin, Mr. Spindle and the Serger (which is quite possibly the coolest thing I know of in sewing).  It gives me a warm feeling when they mention it on Project Runway and I actually know what it is, and what it does!

Thanks to Auntie Virgie who has helped me to save hundreds of dollars in tailoring expenses. I can mend holes in my favorite sweaters that should have been tossed out long ago.  I can replace buttons and fix zippers. I can repair holes in my seams and close up rips in my coat linings.  And most importantly, I can hem my work pants and jeans, which is oh-so-necessary for this 5’2″ frame.  And I’m talking real hemming, mind you, where the tailors will charge you an arm and a leg to hem your pant and reattach the original hem, not just cutting it off at the point where they pin it on you and fold up the slack to make a new edge!

So, three cheers for Auntie Virgie, who will enable me to pass on this basic skill to my daughter so that she too can always wear her favorite clothes, even when they’ve seen better days.

Leave a Reply

Categories

