Posted by: Sharon | November 12, 2009

Hell hath no fury like a woman scorned

Okay, so this post is not going to be as dramatic as that. But I do have a tale of how my ability to hold a grudge is mmmmm… maybe the eighth wonder of the world.

So there’s this girl I work with. And if I could have been a little bird in her ear a few months ago, I would have said, “That Sharon Mathelus. She’s a cool girl. She seems to think you’re competent at your job and perhaps witty and funny too. Best to keep on her good side. Don’t act like you’ve worked here longer than she has. Because you haven’t. And don’t, if you value your reputation, after having known her for over a year, introduce her in a conference call with her European collegues and her trainee, as ‘Shannon’. Because you’ll only look as stupid as you’ve revealed yourself to be. And she’ll never smile at you in the halls again. Or do you any favors. Or answer your emails in a timely manner. In fact, she won’t even waste an ounce of emotion on you when she looks at you across the table in future meetings. She won’t laugh at your lame anecdotes and will inwardly sneer at your nasal-y voice.”

Is my grudge a bit excessive? Sure. Am I disturbingly crazy? Possibly. Do I absolutely HATE it when people call me by the wrong name? Hell yeah.

Responses

  1. I can totally relate to this and I am soooo proud of your bitchiness!;-p


Leave a Reply

Categories

