Posted by: Sharon | March 17, 2009

Can you walk and chew gum at the same time?

How about pat your head and rub your tummy?

How about READING and WALKING at the same time?  I almost collided with a woman yesterday on the way home from work because she was reading at the same time as she was walking down the sidewalk.  I’m talking a full-on 300+ page novel here, not a billboard, not a window sign, not a sign post.  I probably have seen a handful of people do this in Boston before and it always strikes me as odd.

Is the book really that good?  I mean, hey, I’ve read quite a few page-turners in my time, and I love a good book as much as the next nerd, but do you really have to keep your eyes glued to the pages even after you get up off your seat on the T, walk the down the steps, through the station and onto the sidewalks of the real world?  Couldn’t you put it away for a second and maybe open up again when you get home, just so, hmm, I don’t know, that you don’t plow down people who are actually watching where they are going?

Responses

  1. I was just doing this this morning. Yes, sometimes the books are just THAT good.

  2. i had a feeeeling you were a bigger book nerd than me!


Leave a Reply

Categories

